3D Thursday: Wide I/O and TSVs have a ripple effect on the DRAM controller. Who knew?

Currently, the JEDEC Wide I/O DRAM specification looks to be the biggest driving force behind the adoption of 3D IC assembly. The 512-bit data maw of a Wide I/O SDRAM provides high bandwidth with low power levels, both excellent arguments in favor of Wide I/O SDRAM’s use in mobile devices. Wide I/O SDRAM

  • Increases the number of die-to-die interconnect by 10x
  • Increases bandwidth by 10x
  • Reduces per-connection capacitance by 6x
  • Reduces power-per-connection by 6x

You may have already read about Wide I/O SDRAM, but did you know that the adoption of Wide I/O memory also influences DRAM controller design? It does. You can hear all about it in this video, presented by Marc Greenberg at DAC. The information on 3D, Wide I/O, and TSVs starts about 12 minutes and 50 seconds into the video.

About sleibson2

EDA360 Evangelist and Marketing Director at Cadence Design Systems (blog at https://eda360insider.wordpress.com/)
This entry was posted in 2.5D, 3D, DAC, EDA360, IP, Silicon Realization, SoC, SoC Realization, System Realization, TSV, Wide I/O and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

